Death and Detention Centers: When will it stop?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/fernando-romero/post_3140_b_1354810.html

“On the morning of Friday, February 24, I got out of bed with my usual swagger. I made a pot a coffee, a light breakfast and started getting ready for work. Still with lazy eyes, I started answering some e-mails when my phone rang. The person on the other line identified himself as an agent with Immigration and Customs Enforcement so I piqued up immediately (because if that doesn’t wake you up, I don’t know what else does).

Working for an immigrant rights coalition in California’s Inland Empire has brought me in close contact with ICE agents and officials from the Department of Homeland Security (they have my phone number and vice versa). Wide-eyed, I listened as the agent asked for assistance from the coalition I work for. He informed me that a Mexican national in immigration custody was being hospitalized and in critical condition at a hospital in the High Desert, that medical staff said the man only had a few days left to live, and that ICE and DHS needed assistance transporting the man’s family members to the Victor Valley Community Hospital where he was interned.”

Read More

Leave a Reply

